The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) permanent intergovernmental international organisation, the creation of which was announced on 15 June 2001 in Shanghai (China) by the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People’s Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan. It was preceded by the Shanghai Five mechanism.

The SCO’s main goals are as follows: strengthening mutual trust and neighborliness among the member states; promoting their effective cooperation in politics, trade, the economy, research, technology and culture, as well as in education, energy, transport, tourism, environmental protection, and other areas; making joint efforts to maintain and ensure peace, security and stability in the region; and moving towards the establishment of a democratic, fair and rational new international political and economic order.

Although SCO is not a sub-commission of United Nations, or even an independent foundation, its basic principles and objectives follow the same path as the United Nations. In the conference, which we have organized, we will discuss the agendas and address the global issues that need to be resolved. We expect the most suitable solutions for the end. It is really honor to welcome you in our committee which will be relevant, tense, fun and exciting.

*The members of the same countries’ working together in order to be in a consensus ensure more realistic progression throughout the sessions. That is why we desire the members of the same country to apply together as a delegation instead of applying individually.

Agenda Items:

  • Membership Negotiations
  • East Turkestan Issue
  • Ceasing the Ongoing Kashmir Conflict and Ensuring Peace in the Territory
  • Improving military and economic alliances between SCO members

Under Secretary General: Ahmet Faruk Duran

Country Matrix of SCO